Thorndale dominates alldistrict squad for 26A

Bulldogs' Maupin

named co-most

valuable player

District champion Granger and state tournament participant Thorndale led the selections with eight each as the 26A All-District selctions were announced.

Thorndale's Shea Maupin and Kenny Sifuentes of Granger were named the district's co-most valuable players, while Grangers's Jason Finn was the offensive player of the year and Thorndale's sophomore shortstop Paxton Jordan was tabbed as the newcomer of the year.

Senior pitcher Tyler Pounders, senior outfielder Joe Salinas and sophomore second baseman Calvin Tomacak were named to the first team.

Milano placed five players on the squad, including sophomore pitcher Thomas Sanders, junior first baseman Sam Walker and senior outfielder Mark Russell on the first team.

All-District 26A MVP—Shea Maupin, Jr., Thorndale and Kenny Sifuentes, Sr., Granger. Offensive MVP—Jason Finn, Jr., Granger. Defensive MVP—Hayden Caffey, So., Thrall. Newcomer—Paxton Jordan, So., Thorndale.

First Team Pitchers—Tyler Pounders, Sr., Thorndale; Thomas Sanders, So., Milano; Brandon Neidig, Jr., Thrall;Colten Mikulencak, So., Thrall; Clayton Arch, Sr., Holland. Catcher—Tyler Jordan, Jr., Thorndale. First base—Sam Walker, So., Milano; Charton Kubacek, Sr., Granger. Second base—J.D. Kelley, Sr., Holland. Shortstop—Dillan Barbeaux, Jr., Granger. Third base—Trevor Scanlon, Sr., Thrall. Outfield—Joe Salinas, Sr., Thorndale; Mark Russell, Sr., Milano; Cameron Schneider, Jr., Granger; Andrew Aleman, So., Granger; Kollen Scruggs, Fr., Thrall. Utility—Ethan Stroud, Sr., Holland. Designated hitter—Calvin Tomacak, So., Thorndale.

Thorndale junior third baseman Shea Maupin hit .495 and had an 8-0 record as a pitcher in 2009. Thorndale junior third baseman Shea Maupin hit .495 and had an 8-0 record as a pitcher in 2009. Second team Pitchers—Mike Cockerill, Holland; Tanner Gage, Milano. Catcher—Buck Outlaw, Granger. First base—Weston Fisher, Thorndale. Second base—Aaron Kirby, Thrall. Shortstop—Tucker Lovelace, Thrall. Third base—Elliott Buhuslav, Granger. Outfield—Michael Griffin, Milano; Josh Ware, Thorndale; Blair Severson, Holland; Roman Perez, Bartlett; Aaron Herrera, Thrall. Utility—Matthew Jentsch, Milano. Designated hitter—Jared Cummings, Thrall; Nathan Rodriguez, Holland.

Click here for digital edition
2009-06-18 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections