San Andres is a memory of Milam's past
San A ndres Cemeter y on County Road 432 stands as a memorial to one of the earliest eras of Milam County history.
Archeological research, in the early spring of 2009, verified the mission location.
Since the cemetery has not been surveyed, but does have some gravesites that date back to the 1850's, one must wonder, could this cemetery be the burial sites of Father Ganzabal and Juan Ceballos who were killed at Mission Candelaria? In 1838, the western part of Milam County attracted new pioneers to the San Gabriel River area.
According to Texas Legislation, San Andres was to have been the county seat in 1842. Colton's new map of Texas listed it as being located just below the area where Alligator Creek joins the San Gabriel River.
For twenty-five years, a 16- by-15-foot log building in San Andres served as the post office. It was there from February 4, 1852, until April 29, 1877. It was a Confederate Post Office from 1861 to 1863.
John and Mary Charles purchased the land where the post office stood in 1892 and later moved the log building to land owned by their family to be used as a corn crib inside a barn.
Postmasters included David Davis, Henry Carter, Floyd Davis, Augustus Spencer, John Wells, Andres Jones, J. W. Wood and P. Martin Kalb.
Walnut Gove Masonic Lodge No. 145 of San Andres was given dispensation in 1854. They met at Gordon's Stand (which is thought to have been an early stage station).
After the stand burned in 1870, the members joined Lodge No. 311 located at Bryant Station.
Once a part of Indian territory, once the site of a mission, now a memory in Milam County's history, is the San Andres Cemetery.
Research: "The San Xavier Missions," Dr. Kathleen Gilmore; "Matchless Milam - Ghost Town San Andres"; San Andres Cemetery, Mabel Charles.