Area shake up in UIL's realignment plan

Thorndale, Yoe go 2A; Milano in familiar territory

 The highly anticipated biennial realignment by the University Interscholastic League was announced Monday morning and there were some real shake ups in Milam County.

 Rockdale will remain in Class 3A Region 3, but are now in District 23 with Caldwell, Giddings, LaGrange, Navasota and Smithville. Old district foes of the Tigers have been moved around as well.
  As anticipated, Bell rival Cameron dropped down to Class 2A, Division I, and will play in District 12 with Florence, Hearne, Little River Academy, Marlin, McGregor and Troy.   Bryan Rudder jumped to Class 4A. Taylor is in Region 4’s District 25 and Madisonville went east to Region 3 District 20.
 As had been speculated, Class 2A and A school have been divided into Division I and Division II prior to the postseason in football.
 In a surprise, Thorndale has been placed in Class 2A Division II from its Class A spot. For football, they are in Region 3, Division II, District 12-2A along with Bruceville-Eddy, Franklin, Jarrell, Lexington, Rogers and Rosebud-Lott. For basketball, where the Bulldogs had won the Class A Division I titles in 2007 and 2008, Thorndale was placed in Region IV, District 27 along with Cameron Yoe, Florence, Jarrell, Lago Vista, Lexington, Little River Academy and Rogers. Thorndale had previously been in Class 2A from 1996-2001.
 Milano came out as the winner of Milam County in the realignment process as they are in Class A Division II in football and Division I for basketball. For football, the Eagles are in Region IV, District 13 with regulars Bartlett, Granger and Holland, along with old foe Burton and new football team Snook. It will be the first season for Snook to play a varsity schedule. For basketball, Milano is in Division I, District 27 with Bartlett, Granger, Holland, Thrall and Georgetown Gateway.
 A key component in the new 2A and A football puzzle is that instead of three teams advancing to the playoffs, just the top two teams will go. In basketball, three teams per district will be sent to the postseason.

Click here for digital edition
2010-01-28 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections