Summers wins Demo primary

Incumbent Milam County Judge Frank Summers easily won re-nomination to that post from Democratic Party voters Tuesday.

Summers polled 996 votes to 737 for challenger O. C. “Chip” Dunsmoor.

Summers carried Rockdale’s three boxes by a combined 250 to 124.

He will face Republican Dave Barkemeyer in November.

Hollas, Hundle win

Incumbent Kenneth Hollas won another term as Precinct 2 county commissioner, drawing 293 votes to 179 for challenger Donald R. Shuffield.

Hollas faces no Republican opposition in the fall.

In the only other Democratic Primary contest, Charles Hundle won the Pct. 1 justice of the p e ac e nom ination, drawing 301 votes to 142 for Tom Jones and 133 for Lisa Rubac Roden.

Hundle will face Republican Rick Gommert in the fall.

Unopposed Jeff Muegge, running unop- posed for the Democratic Primary nomination to replace retiring Pct. 4 Commissioner Burke Bauerschlag, polled 318 votes.

Muegge will face Republican Buddy Johnson in November.

Unopposed for Democratic nominations were the following incumbents:

Cindy Fechner, district clerk, 1,291; Barbara Vansa, county clerk, 1,421; Danica Lara, treasurer, 1,342; Don Schuerman, Precinct 2 JP, 339; Twila Harris, Precinct 3 JP, 286; Gary Northcott, Precinct 4 JP, 303.

Only Fechner and Vansa and Lara will not have Republican opponents in November.

Lara is in the process of taking name off the November ballot after being designated as the new county auditor on Monday. See Page 2A.

Richard Stone polled 1,308 votes to win another term as county chairman.

Statewide contested

Bill White polled 1,287 votes for governor to 102 for Farouk Shami. Clement Glenn drew 87 votes, Bill Dear 21, Star Locke 23, Felix (Rodriguez) Alvarado 45 and Alma Ludvia Aguado 23.

Ronnie Earle polled 744 votes in the lieutenant governor’s race with Marc Katz drawing 278 and Linda Chavez-Thompson 358.

Bill Burton drew 1,067 votes for land commissioner with Hector Uribe polling 252.

In the only other contested race, Richard “Kinky” Friedman had 759 votes for agriculture commissioner and Hank Gilbert drew 733.

Click here for digital edition
2010-03-04 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections