Three-way mayor race heads full city ballot

PerryPerryA flurry of last week, even last day, filings has produced a three-man race for Rockdale mayor and contested contests for all city ballot slots.

Dr. Larry Don Jones and Darrell R. Grear filed for mayor over the past week, joining Collier Perry on the ballot to replace incumbent John Shoemake, who did not seek reelection.

Roger Whitmore filed for east ward city council, opposing Joyce Dalley.

The winner will replace long-time incumbent J. T. Talley who is leaving the city council after serving for 15 years.

Incumbent Tom Fisher is challenged by Toby Johnson for the west ward seat.

Mayor race

Perry, a contractor, filed on Feb. 8. He is a former member of the city council, serving one term from 1974 to 1976.

Dr. Jones, a dentist, filed last Wednesday. That’s the same day Whitmore, an electrician, filed for the east ward seat.

Jones Jones Grear, a chaplain, filed on Monday, the final filing date. He was an unsuccessful candidate for Talley’s east ward position in 2007.

There will also be an election to merge the Rockdale Municipal Development District within the boundaries of the city. (See separate story).


It’s just the opposite on the Rockdale ISD ballot.

Incumbents Michelle Lehmkuhl (Place 3) and Lee Jenkins (Place 4) did not draw opponents.

Wenda Jo Dyer is unopposed to replace retiring Place 5 incumbent, and school board president, James Birkhead.

The Rockdale Hospital District ballot has three unopposed incumbents.

They are: Place 1 (east ward), Larry Jackson Sr.; Place 3 (west ward), Carl Hudson; at large, Richard Burns.

In all cases with no opposition, governing bodies will be able to cancel elections unless write-in candidates declare before 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 16.

Grear Grear Milano, Thorndale

Six candidates are seeking three places on the Milano ISD school board.

Filing Monday were Lucas Hairston, Terry Malovets and Dewey Steinbecker. They join incumbents Kevin Love, Margaret Plentl and Steve Walker on the ballot.

Mayor Billy Barnett and councilman Edward Westbrook are unopposed on the Milano city ballot.

Both Thorndale elections are uncontested.

Incumbent city council members Gerald Niemtschk, Jack Willis and Sam Pickett are unopposed, as are incumbents Brian Fisher and David Hall and newcomer Deborah Stolte for the Thorndale ISD School Board.

Click here for digital edition
2010-03-11 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections