Commissioners finish naming roads panel

CAMERON—Milam County commissioners, meeting Monday in regular session in the county courthouse, completed appointment of a county roads committee.

Gary Morgan and Byron Wise were selected from Precinct 3 and Precinct 4 members will be Keith Fisher and Johnny Demsky.

Two weeks ago commissioners made the following appointments:

At large— Al Atkins, William Dark.

Precinct 1— Jack Cook, Randy Simcek.

Precinct 2— Edwin Maas Jr., Steve Urban.

The committee will review options for improving and maintaining the county’s 400-mile network of unpaved, rural roads.

In other business Monday, commissioners:

• Recognized Precinct 1 JP Chip Dunsmoor and Precinct 3 Court Clerk Lilly Griffin who were recently named Judge of the Year and Clerk of the Year by the Central Texas JP and Constables Association.

• Recognized Precinct 3 JP Twila Harris (25 years) as the longest serving elected county official.

• Okayed an $18,000, 48- month lease for eight copiers.

• Appointed Darlene Tucker to the Milam County Historical Commission.

• Named Geri Burnett, Delores Sonntag, Gloria Thrasher, Elaine Baumann, Darlene Anglen and Johnilyn Brown to the Certified Local Government panel.

Click here for digital edition
2010-04-29 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections