Explore 2010 First Lady’s award-winners online

AUSTIN — Videos featuring the cultural and historic assets of Nacogdoches, San Marcos and Waxahachie are now available on the Texas Historical Commission’s (THC) web site, www.thc.

These three communities are the 2010 winners of the First Lady’s Texas Treasures Award, which recognizes up to five communities each year that showcase a passionate commitment to community preservation efforts through participation in THC programs. The videos bring to life Nacogdoches’ five historic National Register Districts, San Marcos’ Victorian homes and Waxahachie’s beautifully restored historic county courthouse.

The First Lady’s Texas Treasures Award, sponsored by the THC and the Office of the First Lady, acknowledges communities that recognize the economic benefits of researching, identifying and preserving the structures, archeological sites and landscapes that emphasize an authentic sense of Texas place.

Be inspired by the video clips of Nacogdoches, San Marcos and Waxahachie to assist your community on its own preservation journey. For more information about the First Lady’s Texas Treasures Award, contact the THC’s Community Heritage Development Division at 512-463-6092.

Click here for digital edition
2010-05-06 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections