Newcomer, incumbents win in Milano

MILANO—Newcomer Dewey Steinbecker will join incumbents Steve Walker and Margaret Plentl on the Milano ISD board of trustees after Saturday’s election.

Voters ousted the incumbent school board president as five persons were vying for three atlarge positions.

Steinbecker garnered the most votes with 82, followed by Walker with 71 and Plentl with 51.

Current MISD school board president Kevin Love polled 49, followed by Terry Malovets with 44.

Other members of the Milano ISD School Board are John Paniagua, Kim Lenz, Alden Crowe and Lynette Taylor.

Votes were canvassed in a special meeting on Tuesday.

Milano had the only contested race in South Milam County.

Both Thorndale school and city races were unopposed as were the Rockdale Hospital District and the City of Milano elections.

Unopposed candidates may be declared elected.

Click here for digital edition
2010-05-13 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections