Rockdale cross country team runs in Hutto

HUTTO—The Rockdale Cross Country team opened up its 2010 season Friday at the Hippo Relay Meet at Fritz Park.

“We had a fun opener at Hutto,” said cross country Coach Liz McQuitter. “It was a good warm up for us and a good indicator of where we are and what we need to work on.

“Overall I was pleased with the kids who ran. We have 22 runners, but only 11 were able to attend the meet.”

Their next meet will be Sept. 11 in Lexington.

Re su lt s (out of 19 teams) included:

Varsity boys—8th place (Juan Rubio, Benito Castillo, Francisco Romo, Jacob Gerren) 8 mile relay, 45.11.

JV Boys—7th place (Henry Hill, Stefan Hinojosa, Jose Ruelas, Justin Bailey) 4 mile relay, 24:56.

J V Girls—12th place (A my Pruett, Anabella Ruelas, Amanee Howard) 34:50. Bulldog cross country team first at Academy

ACADEMY— The Thorndale Boys’ Varsity cross country team ran in the Academy Invitational and captured first place with a total of 30 points.

The win was determined by the sixth place runner.

Of the 29 runners, here are the individual results over this 5K course:

• Dillon Irwin placed 4th with a time of 19:25.

• Aaron Laurence placed 5th with a time of 20.25.

• Jack Elms placed 6th with a time of 20:29.

• Keon Mays placed 7th with a time of 20:49.

• Colton Youngblood placed 8th with a time of 21:01.

• Eric Guzman placed 9th with a time of 21:07.

• Pete Garcia placed 12th with a time of 21:19.

• Jacob Kiesling placed 14th with a time of 21:51.

• Calvin Tomancak placed 17th with a time of 22:30.

• Ray Stewart placed 19th with a time of 22:36.

At the same meet, the Thorndale junior varsity boys placed first also.

Here are the individual results over this 5K course:

Sam Richter placed 1st with a time of 22:49; Josh Vasquez placed second with a time of 24.20.; Riley Schaefer placed 3rd with a time of 24.39; Shawn Bigan placed 4th with a time of 24:42; Chase Lewthwaite placed 5th with a time of 25:26; Daniel Avila placed 7th with a time of 26:48; Josh Jones placed 8th with a time of 27:05; Heath Vasquez placed 9th with a time of 27:17; Chris Laurence placed 10th with a time of 27:18.

Towns captures second straight club crown

Richard Towns fired in a 153 to stave off former champion Russell Caffey to bag his second straight Rockdale Country Club championship.

Caffey—a multiple champion— finished three strokes behind Towns with a 156 total.

Other winners included:

President’s f light—Frankie Kincheon 157, Joe Wayne Cleveland 166.

Director’s flight—Frank Rubio 165, David Akins 192.

Senior—Homer Mowdy 157. Sen ior ha nd ic ap —Mon roe Jungman 151.

Click here for digital edition
2010-09-02 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections