Brooks, Clark head up all-district picks

Tigers place seven players on the first team

Clark Clark Some things are just worth repeating and in LeRaven Clark’s case that means complete domination.

For the second year in a row, the 6-foot-6, 250-pound senior was named first team on both offense and defense on the 2010 23-3A All-District team.

And as was the case last year, Clark—who has committed to Texas Tech—was the only player named first team on both sides of the ball.

“It is really special to have a player that is selected to the first team on both sides of the ball two years in a row,” said his coach Jeff Miller. “He is one of the most dominating offensive linemen I have ever been around, and he also has the ability to control the defensive line.

“He’s really a special player.”

The District 23-3A football season came to a close when league champion Navasota fell to Tyler Chapel Hill 42-13 Friday night in the Division I quarterfinals.

Brooks Brooks The Tigers placed seven players on the first-team, including record-setting running back Da niel Brook s, linemen Sa l Bishop and Patrick David, linebackers Derek David and James David and defensive back Terral Dixon.

“As always, all district selections bring surprises, both good and bad,” Miller said. “There were a couple that I was a little disappointed in, like the fact that Dillan Schnerr and Markus Hayes did not make higher than honorable mention and that Brooks was not selected as the district offensive MVP.

“However, we did really well in a lot of areas. Very few freshmen ever play on the varsity, but for James David to be selected as a first team linebacker is incredible.”

For the first time in several years, Rockdale did not claim any of the individual superlatives.

For the third year in a row, a Navasota quarterback was named the district’s most valuable player, this year the honor went to Ian Day.

In his only year as a starter, the senior amassed over 2,500 yards in total offense and accounted for over 35 touchdowns in leading the Rattlers’ to the district crown.

Last year, Navasota signal-caller Kye Hildreth was the MVP and in 2008 it was Jacolby Stokes.

Clark and Brooks were certainly MVP candidates, but it would be difficult for lineman Clark to take the award.

Brooks established several Rockdale rushing records this season and despite leading the district in interceptions, Brooks was not named to the defensive team.

Despite playing in just 3 1/2 district games, LaGrange senior receiver Brandon Wilkerson was the offensive player of the year.

Navasota senior linebacker Kesnick Jones was chosen as the defensive player of the year over Derek David, who led the Tigers in tackles.

David David Tigers were named the defensive player of the year the past two seasons in Logan David and Nic Hammett.

Giddings’ sophomore running back Joseph Glenn (1,200 yards rushing) was named the newcomer of the year over James David.

Navasota’s Lee Fedora was named the coach of the year.

Joining Clark on the first team was a surprise selection in junior Patrick Dav id, who was also selected on defense as an honorable mention choice.

On defense, 6-foot-4, 250- pound senior Bishop was picked alongside Clark on the f irst team.

ALL-DISTRICT 23-3A Coach of the Year—Lee Fedora, Navasota District MVP—Ian Day, Sr., Navasota Offensive MVP—Brandon Wilkerson Sr., LaGrange Defensive MVP—Kesnick Jones, Sr., Navasota Newcomer of the Year—Joseph Glenn. So., Giddings

First team offense Quarterback—D.J. Cumby, Sr. Caldwell; Logan Vinklarek, So., LaGrange. Running Back—Daniel Brooks, Jr., Rockdale; Kedrin Sheppard, Sr., Caldwell; Eric Rimes, Sr., Giddings; Antoin Burrell, Sr., Navasota. Wide Receiver—Darrell Morris, Sr., LaGrange; Alfon Taylor, Sr., Navasota; Travis Pearce, Sr., Navasota, Tight End—Josh Gonzales, Sr., Giddings. Offensive Line—Zach Kelly, Sr., Caldwell; Eddie Casares, Sr., Giddings; Rodney Schneider, Sr., Giddings; Ricardo Aguilar, Sr., Navasota; Kyle Orlando, Jr., Navasota; LeRaven Clark, Sr., Rockdale; Patrick David, Jr., Rockdale. Kicker—Cesar Barron, So. Navasota.

First team defense Linemen—LeRaven Clark, Sr., Rockdale; Sal Bishop, Sr., Rockdale; Dillon Arrington, Sr., Navasota; Justin Whitfield., Sr Navasota; Matt Mueller, Sr., Caldwell; Chad Childs, Jr., LaGrange. Linebacker—Derek David, Jr., Rockdale; James David, Fr., Rockdale; Jacob Satterfield, Jr., Giddings; D’Vonte Daniels, Sr., LaGrange; Antoin Burrell, Sr., Navasota. Secondary—Terral Dixon, Sr. Rockdale; Luis Martinez, Sr., Caldwell; Jacob Krchnak, Jr., Giddings; Cody Small, Sr., Navasota; Tevin Creeks, Sr., Navasota; Devin Carter, Sr., Caldwell. Punter—D.J. Cumby, Sr., Caldwell. Return specialist—Bryson Burns, Jr., Caldwell; Deon Hickey, So., Giddings.

Rockdale second team Casey Burrough DB; Terral Dixon RB; Stephen Schneider DL; Anthony Montoya LB; Noe Zelaya K.

Rockdale honorable mention Ethan Brinkley QB; Dillan Schnerr OL; Patrick David DL; Markus Hayes LB; Richard Vasquez DB.

Rockdale all-academic Alonzo, Bishop, Brinkley, Brooks, Burrough, Carpenter, Clark, David, P.,Garza, Hayes, Kirk, Lewis, Macias, Monroe, Morrow, Zelaya.

District Season
WL WL PtsOpp
Navasota 5 0 10 3 339 165
Rockdale 3 2 5 6 261 231
Giddings 3 2 5 6 323 193
Caldwell 3 2 8 2 351 191
LaGrange 1 4 4 6 233 291
Smithville 0 5 0 10 131 462


Rushing—Brooks 215-1,696 20 TD; Dixon 117-836 11 TD; Palmo 39-222 2 TD, Nelson 7-3, Burrough 2-1, Carpenter 3-(-7), Moore 2-(-17), Moore 2- (-17), Brinkley 42- (-70).

Passing—Brinkley 71-167-9, 825 yards, 9 TD; Dixon 0-1-0; Carpenter 0-2-0.

Receiving—Brooks 18-126, Dixon 11-151 3 TD, Lewis 16-243 3 TD, Goodman 12-125 TD, Palmo 2-8, Garza 7-129, Hayes 1-16, Carpenter 2-11 TD, Morrow 1-16, Alonzo 1-7 TD, Palmo 1-3, White 1- (-2).

Tackles—David, D. 76, David, J. 64, Burrough 58, Hayes 58, Montoya 46, Clark 51, Morrow 48, Vasquez 39, Bishop 33, Schneider 27, Kirk 23, Garcia 18, Brooks 17, Carpenter 16, David, P. 23, Dixon 19, Estrada 10, Fisher 7, Moore 6, Hall 6, Blythe 5, Lewis 5, Alonzo 3, Macias 2, Nelson 2, Garza 1, McQuinn 1.

Click here for digital edition
2010-12-02 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections