City, school voters will ‘Pick 3’

Polling hours 7 to 7 Saturday at City Hall in two elections

It’s not the lottery but Rockdale voters have to “pick 3” on Saturday.

There are three contested races to decide in the annual spring balloting day, two for the city council and one on the school board.

Voting hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. with balloting at City Hall in both the school and city elections.

Early voting ended Tuesday with 143 persons casting ballots for the city’s west ward contest, 58 for the east ward and 251 for the school board.

CONTESTS—Melody Dawson and Steve Pruett are candidates for the east ward council seat being vacated by Gerri Offield.

West ward incumbent Doug Calame is challenged by Gary Darby.

On the school board ballot, Kent Bowermon is opposed by Henr y Miller for Place 7.

Lin Perr y is unopposed for Place 6.

Incumbents Barbara Grayson and Lisa Gerthe did not seek re-election.

WHO CAN VOTE—Turn over your blue voter registration card and look on the back.

• Under city if it says “RKDW” you can vote in Rockdale’s west ward election.

• If it says “RKDE” you can vote in the east ward election.

• Under school, if it says “RKDL” you can vote in the school board election.

MILANO—Milano ISD voting is 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday at the administration building on the elementary campus.

Incumbents John Paniagua and Kim Lenz, along with Shawn Walton, Jay Willingham and Edward Westbrook, are seeking two at large three-year terms.

Kevin Love and Carl Blake are facing off for a two-year unexpired term.

Incumbent Terry Malovets is challenged by John A. Yakesch for the remainder of a one-year unexpired term.

There is no Milano city elect ion w it h incumbents Carol Newman, David Gunnels Jr. and Henry Dykes unopposed.

THOR NDALE—Thorndale ISD voting is 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday at the Thorndale Senior Citizens Center.

Incumbents Larry Joe Fisher and Dean Betak and newcomer Trey Felton are competing for two at large slots.

There is no city race as Mayor Billy Simank and council candidates Stephanie Churchman and Don Culp are unopposed.

Click here for digital edition
2011-05-12 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections