Candidates designate treasurers five months before filing starts

If the early bird gets the worm, at least two prospective Milam County 2012 candidates are hoping it also gets the votes.

It’s only June but incumbent sheriff David Greene and potential Republican Primary challenger Greg Kouba have already designated campaign treasurers, according to Sherry Mueck, county elections clerk.

Both men designated themselves as campaign treasurers.

If the early interest—filing doesn’t even begin until Nov 12 for the March 6 election—is any indication, 2012 is shaping up as a hotly contested political year.

JUDGE VACANCY—In addition to the sheriff’s race, there’s likely to be a contest for district judge.

The Milam County legal community is awaiting Gov. Rick Perry’s appointment of a replacement for District Judge Ed Magre, who is retiring on Thursday.

Two Cameron attorneys, Republican John Youngblood and Democrat Norman Lanford, have expressed interest in serving on the bench.

The district judge position is on the 2012 ballot. Youngblood has said he will be a candidate in next year’s GOP primary.

Mueck said candidates are not required to file names of campaign treasurers this early but there is nothing preventing them from doing so at any time.

“ The only stipulation is that a candidate must designate a treasurer before doing any actual campaigning,” she said.

OFFICE HOLDERS—In addition to sheriff and district judge, the following offices are up for election next year, all currently held by Democrats:

• Prosecutor, currently held by Kerry Spears, first elected in 2000, re- elected in 2004 and 2008.

• Tax collector, currently held by Kolette Morgan, appointed in 2010 to replace Doug Bryan.

• Precinct 1 commissioner, George Tomek, elected in 2008.

• Precinct 3 commissioner, Dale Jaecks, first elected in 1988, re-elected in 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2008.

• Precinct 1 constable, John Anderle, elected in 2008.

• Precinct 2 constable, Charlie West, former sheriff appointed earlier this year to replace Heith Kemper.

• Precinct 3 constable, Herbie Vaughan, first elected in 2004, re-elected in 2008.

• Precinct 4 constable, Giles Summerlin, appointed in 1995, re-elected in 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2008.

Click here for digital edition
2011-06-30 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections