All Texas counties eligible for livestock forage disaster program

COLLEGE STATION—United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Texas Farm Service Agency ( FSA) Acting Executive Director James Douglass, announced that all counties in Texas have met the Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP) trigger requirements for a three-month pay- ment for native pasture, improved pasture and forage sorghum.

Eligible ranchers and livestock producers have until Jan. 30, 2012 to apply for LFP benefits for losses incurred during the 2011 crop year.

LFP provides payments to eligible livestock producers that have suffered livestock grazing losses due to qualifying drought or fire. Fire losses apply only to federally managed rangeland. Eligible livestock under LFP include beef cattle, alpacas, buffalo, beefalo, dairy cattle, deer, elk, emus, equine, goats, llamas, poultry, reindeer, sheep and swine.

For losses due to drought, qualifying drought ratings are determined using the U.S. Drought Monitor located at html.

“It is imperative that livestock producers meet this deadline for disaster assistance as there are no late file provisions for LFP,” Douglass said. “I encourage eligible producers to contact their local FSA office to learn more about LFP eligibility requirements.”

For more LFP information, please contact your local FSA office. Information can also be obtained online at

Click here for digital edition
2011-09-15 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections