Big election season starts Monday

Milam voters to pick sheriff, judge, prosecutor, more in 2012 slate

Monday is the first day for candidates to file in what’s looming as a huge ballot for 2012 primary voters to decide.

There are already three contested primary races, all on the Republican ballot, and 10 persons have already announced their intentions to run for county offices in 2012.

That total included eight Republicans and two Democrats.

In 2012, Milam voters will select a district judge, district attorney, sheriff, treasurer, tax collector, commissioners in Precincts 1 and 3 and all four constables.

FILING— County chairs Bill Whitmire (Republican) and Richard Stone (Democrat) have announced that their offices will be staffed on Monday for the convenience of candidates who wish to file on the first day.

GOP Headquarters, 106 South Travis in Cameron, will be open until 6 p.m. “Kyle Deal will staff the office,” Whitmire said.

Milam County Democratic Headquarters, 112 East First in Cameron, will be open 8:30 to 10 a.m. and 3 to 6 p.m. on Monday, Stone said.

GOP CONTESTS—Three contests have already developed on the GOP ballot.

Former Sheriff Charlie West, the incumbent Precinct 2 constable, is seeking re-election in the GOP primary. He will be opposed by Kenny Schneebeli.

Incumbent county tax assessor- collector Kolette Morgan is challenged by Karen Berry.

Incumbent sheriff David Greene is challenged by former deputy sheriff Greg Kouba.

Current District Judge John Youngblood, a Republican, is seeking re-election.

And Precinct 1 Constable John Anderle has announced he will seek re-election on the GOP ballot.

DEMO—Incumbent Prosecutor Kerry Spears and Treasurer Linda Acosta are seeking renomination on the Democratic Primary ballot.

Click here for digital edition
2011-11-24 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections