New filing period awaited by parties

One of the first orders of business for the big political year of 2012 in Texas will be a decision on when candidates who missed the first filing period will have a chance to toss their hats in the ring.

The filing period was supposed to have ended Friday, Dec. 16, but a federal court has ruled there will be another period early next year.

The court said the period would end on Feb. 1 but hasn’t yet said when it will start.

That period is expected to last 7 to 10 days.

MILAM RACES—That “overtime” period could have special significance in Milam County where nobody—Republican or Democrat—filed for Precinct 3 constable during the first goround.

Incumbent Precinct 3 Constable

Herbie Vaughan of Rockdale is one of three Republican candidates for sheriff, along with incumbent David Greene and former Milam Deputy Greg Kouba.

In addition to changing the filing period, the court also delayed the primary dates by one month, moving the primaries to April 3.

It’s all part of an ongoing disagreement over redistricting at the federal and state level, a controversy that does not affect the county level and below.

Other Milam filings, so far:

Precinct 3 commissioner—John Fisher,
Odes Foster.
Precinct 2 constable— Charlie West
(incumbent), Kenny Schneebeii.
Precinct 1 commissioner— George
Tomek (incumbent).
Prosecutor—Bill Torrey.
Precinct 1 constable—John Anderle.
Tax assessor-collector—Kolette Morgan

(incumbent), Karen Berry.
County treasurer—Julie Biar, Donna
L. Orsag.
District judge—John Youngblood.
Precinct 4 constable—Fred Keefer.
County chair—Bill Whitmire.
District judge—Norman Lanford, Hollis
C. Lewis Jr.
Prosecutor— Kerr y Speers ( incumbent). Tax assessor-collector— Tommy
Precinct 4 constable— Giles Summerlin (incumbent), Brian Keith Fisher.
County treasurer—Linda Acosta
County chair—Richard Stone.

Click here for digital edition
2011-12-29 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections