More file as ballots final

Nine contests in May 29 primaries, seven for November

The Milam County ballot for the long-delayed May 29 primaries is finally set.

There were three more “lastminute” filings in the Republican Primary before the Friday deadline, according to County Chair Bill Whitmire, who said one candidate who had previously filed has now dropped out.

That means there will be nine contested races in the two Milam Count y primaries and seven Republican-Democrat races on the general election ballot in November.

Three GOP candidates filed during the past two days for the office of Precinct 2 Constable.

They are Jay Willingham of Milano, Roy Baggerly of Gause and Carol Wells of Rockdale.

Randy Rodiguez of Cameron, as expected, filed for Precinct 1 constable. Rodriguez had announced his candidacy earlier this year.

Whitmire said Odes Foster, who had previously filed for Precinct 3 commissioner, has withdrawn from the race.

GOP CONTESTS—Here are the contested races on the Milam County GOP ballot:

Sheriff—David Greene (incumbent), Greg Kouba, Herbie Vaughan.

Treasurer—Julie Biar, Donna Orsag.

Tax Assessor- Collector— Kolette Morgan (incumbent), Karen Berry.

Precinct 1 commissioner— George Tomek (incumbent), Chuck “Tank” Balch.

Precinct 1 constable—John A nderle ( incumbent), Randy Rodriguez.

Precinct 2 constable—Charlie West (incumbent), Kenny Schneebeli.

Precinct 3 constable—Jay Willingham, Roy Baggerly, Carol Wells.

DEMO CONTESTS—There are two contested Democratic Primary races as follows:

Di st r ic t judge— Norman Lanford, Hollis Lewis.

Precinct 4 constable—Giles Summerlin (incumbent), Brian Keith Fisher.

UNOPPOSED—The following races are unopposed in the May 29 primaries:


District judge—John Youngblood (incumbent).

District attorney—Bill Torrey.

Precinct 3 commissioner— John Fisher.

Precinct 4 constable—Fred Keefer.


District attorney—Kerr y Spears (incumbent).

County treasurer—Linda Acosta (incumbent).

Tax assessor- collector— Tommy Grimes.

Precinct 1 commissioner— Ricky McCall.

Precinct 3 commissioner— Andy Jackson.

NOVEMBER—That means there will be Republican-Democrat contests in November for the following positions:

District judge, district attorney, treasurer, tax assessor-collector, Precinct 1 commissioner, Precinct 3 commissioner, Precinct 4 constable.

In four races, sheriff and Precinct 1, 2 and 3 constables, there is no Democrat on the November ballot and the w inner of the Republican primary will be unopposed in the fall.

Whitmore (GOP) and Stone (Democrat) are unopposed for new terms as county chairs.

VOTER ID—Also during the week, the U. S. Justice Department refused to accept the Votger ID law passed by the Texas Legislature.

That means there is no change in the current law for primary voting and the traditional forms of ID will be accepted in lieu of a voter registration card.

Click here for digital edition
2012-03-15 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections