Lady Tigers place seven on all-loop

Led by first-team selections Victoria Drake, Britni Newlin, Kayleigh Montelongo and Marissa Mireles, the Rockdale Lady Tigers placed seven players on the All- District 23-3A team.

Two sophomores who played prominent roles on the team, third baseman Kayla Deary and outfielder Amanda Boyd were selected for the second team.

Junior second baseman Lisa Vest was honorable mention.

Junior Breanna Homer of LaGrange was named the most valuable player, while the Lady Leps Arthur Behrend was named coach of the year.

All-District 23-3A Softball MVP: Breanna Homer, Jr.–La Grange Offensive MVP: Alex Masek, Sr.- Giddings Defensive MVP: Alyssa Angel, Soph. -La Grange Newcomer: Nadia Rogers, Frosh -Giddings Utility: Kristy Bertsch, Frosh - La Grange; Kara Ihlenfeldt, Sr.-Caldwell Coach of the Year—Arthur Behrend, LaGrange.

First team Pitchers: LeeAnn Peacock, So. -Navasota; Kayliegh Montelongo, Jr.-Rockdale; Ariel Svec, So. -La Grange Infielders: Brooke Fritsche, So. -Giddings; Kelbi Abke, Sr.-Navasota; Marissa Mireles, Jr.-Rockdale; Rebecca Proske. Jr. -La Grange; Trina Deyo 11th - Smithville Catcher: Hannah Michel, So. -Giddings; Britni Newlin, Sr.-Rockdale; Randi Smith, So. -Smithville Outfielders: Macy Wilhelm, So. -Smithville; Kyrsten Dawson, Sr. -Caldwell; Victoria Drake, Sr. - Rockdale Designated player: Madison Knesek, Jr.-La Grange

2nd Team Pitchers: Morgan Harris, So.-Smithville; Allison Alford, Sr. -Caldwell Infielders: Julie Kubicek, Jr. -Smithville; Kim Rodriguez, Fr. -Giddings; Hallie Garlick, Sr. -La Grange; Kaylee Dover, Sr.-Navasota; Kayla Deary, So.-Rockdale. Catcher: Riley Poston, Sr. -Navasota. Outfielders: Mariah Landolt, Sr. -Caldwell; Amanda Boyd, So. -Rockdale; Callie Gerdes, Jr.–Giddings

Honorable Mention (Rockdale) 2B Lisa Vest, Jr.

Click here for digital edition
2012-05-10 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections