Tuesday deadline to register for runoff

Tuesday (July 2) is the final day to register to vote in time to participate in the July 31 runoff elections.

Milam County voters will choose a sheriff that day in a Republican Primary runoff.

Incumbent David Greene faces challenger Greg Kouba. They were the top two vote-getters in a three-man primary race May 29.

There is no Democratic candidate for sheriff on the November general election ballot.

WHO CAN VOTE?—Want to vote July 31? First you have to be registered and if you’re not, the last day to do so is Tuesday.

Milam County residents who are not registered to vote must fill out a form and submit it to the County Tax Office, 101 South Fannin, Cameron, across the street from the tax office.

Phone number is 254-697-7017.

There are two runoff elections July 31, one Republican, one Democratic. If you voted in one party’s primary you can’t vote in the other party’s runoff election.

But if you didn’t vote at all May 29, you can vote in either party’s runoff July 31.

EARLY VOTING—Early voting for the runoff elections will begin July 23 and conclude July 27.

Locations will be the Rockdale Regional Juvenile Justice Center, Milam County Clerk’s Office in Cameron, Thorndale Fireman’s Hall and the Buckholts Community Center.

On July 31, Milam County’s 11 voting precincts will be consolidated into four boxes.

They are the Rockdale Fire Station, Milam County Courthouse, Cameron Community Center and Thorndale Fireman’s Hall.

GOP—In addition to the sheriff’s race, there are five other runoffs on the Milam GOP ballot.

David Dewhurst faces Ted Cruz for the Republican nomination to the U. S. Senate seat now held by Kay Bailey Hutchison.

Warren Chisum and Christi Craddick are vying for a railroad commission nomination.

A runoff for an unexpired term on the railroad commission pits Barry Smitherman and Greg Parker.

David Medina and John Devine are vying for the Republican nomination as Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Place 4.

Tom Maynard and Rebecca Osborne are runoff candidates for the nomination to the State Board of Education, District 10.

DEMO RUNOFF—There is one runoff on the Milam County Democratic ballot.

Paul Sadler and Grady Yarbrough are vying for the Democratic nomination to the U. S. Senate seat.

Click here for digital edition
2012-06-28 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections