Sheriff race will (finally) end Tuesday

Early voting turnout 668 in first two days

Greene Greene Milam County voters will pick a sheriff on Tuesday.

In fact, they’re already doing it. Early voting for the Republican Primary runoff election, pitting incumbent David Greene and challenger Greg Kouba, has been heavy. It ends Friday at four locations around the county.

Election day is Tuesday and the county’s 11 polling places from the May 29 primary have been consolidated into four.

Hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. All Rockdale residents will cast votes at the same location, the Rockdale Volunteer Fire Department’s Fire Station. (See “where to vote” at bottom for all locations.)

EARLY VOTING— Through Tuesday there had been 668 early votes in the Republican Primary, which features the sheriff race plus five state races.

That’s a heavy turnout for a runoff, especially one in the middle of the summer.

Kouba Kouba Thirty-three early votes had been recorded in the Democratic Primary runoff, which features only a U. S. Senate race.

Early voting locations and hours, Wednesday through Friday are: • Rockdale Regional Juvenile Justice Center—9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Milam County Clerk’s Office, Cameron—8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Thorndale Recreational (Firemen’s) Hall—9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Buckholts Community Center— 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

SHERIFF RACE—Greene almost won the GOP nomination—there is no Democrat on the general election ballot—on May 29, when he polled 49 percent of the vote. Kouba drew 33 percent and Herbie Vaughan, current Precinct 3 constable, was eliminated with 17.61 percent.

WHO CAN VOTE?— Since both Republican and Democratic parties are holding runoff elections, voters need to keep in mind that you won’t be able to vote in a party runoff different from the party primary in which you cast a vote May 29.

But anyone who did not vote May 29, and is legally registered to vote in Milam County, may vote in either party’s runoff beginning Monday.

SENATE RACE—One of the statewide races on the Republican runoff ballot has generated a lot of interest recently.

Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst and former Texas Solicitor General Ted Cruz are vying for the GOP nomination to the U. S. Senate seat being vacated by Kay Bailey Hutchison.

Dewhurst led the May 29 balloting which eliminated seven candidates including former Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert and ex-SMU footballer Craig James.

The GOP runoff winner will face the winner of the only Democratic race on the Tuesday’s Milam ballot.

Paul Sadler, former state representative, is opposed by Grady Yarbrough, retired educator, also seeking the U. S. Senate seat being vacated by Hutchison.

Sadler got the most votes in the May 29 primary which eliminated two candidates.

GOP RACES—Other races on the Republican ballot:

Railroad commissioner— Warren Chisum, Christi Craddick.

Railroad commissioner, unexpired term—Barry Smitherman, Greg Parker.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4—David Medina, John Devine.

Member, State Board of Education, District 10—Tom Maynard, Rebecca Osbourne.

Click here for digital edition
2012-07-26 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections