MIlam goes GOP in big way Tuesday

Republicans won every contested countywide race, unseating two Democratic incumbents

  Milam County voters went Republican in a big way Tuesday, winning all contested countywide races, including unseating a pair of Democratic incumbents.

   Incumbent Republican District Judge John Youngblood outpolled Democratic challenger Hollis Lewis 4,944 to 3,196.

  Cameron attorney Bill Torrey (R) unseated longtime prosecutor Kerry Spears (D) 4,213 to 3,930.

  Kolette Morgan (R), incumbent tax collector, defeated Tommy Grimes (D) 5,307 to 2,790.

  Republican challenger Donna Orsag unseated incumbent Democratic treasurer Linda Acosta 4,580 to 3,498.


  Precinct 1 Commissioner George Tomek (R) turned back the challenge of Ricky McCall (D) 1,512 to 479.

  In the Precinct 3 Commissioner race to replace retiring Democrat Dale Jaecks, John "Barney" Fisher (R) outpolled Democratic challenger Andy Jackson 1,578 to 649.

  Only longtime Democratic incumbent Precinct 4 Constable Giles Summerlin survived the Republican surge Tuesday. He defeated Republican challenger Fred Keefer 1,047 to 949.


  Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan (R) drew 5,478 votes in Milam County to 2,632 for President Barack Obama and Vice-President Joe Biden (D)

Click here for digital edition
2012-11-01 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections