Decision day Tuesday in Milam

Voters to pick judge, prosecutor, tax collector and, oh yes, president

The candidates have had their say. Now it’s your turn.

Rockdale and Milam County voters will head to the polls Tuesday to choose seven county and precinct officials.

Oh yes, and they’ll help choose a president and vice-president of the United States.

The 2012 general election will bring an end to a process that’s been going on for most of a year. In fact the first candidate statements in The Reporter for the 2012 election were published Oct. 27, 2011.

COUNTY-WIDE—Four of the races are county-wide.

Incumbent Republican District Judge John Youngblood is challenged by Democrat Hollis C. Lewis.

Youngblood was appointed to the position to replace Ed Magre, who retired. Lewis is a former Milam County/District Attorney.

Kerry Spears, Democratic county prosecutor, is challenged by Republican Bill Torrey.

Do you really need a caption to identify these two candidates? Do you really need a caption to identify these two candidates? It’s the third matchup of the two candidates for the prosecutor position. Spears won the first two in Democratic primaries.

Incumbent Republican Tax Assessor-Collector Kolette Morgan is challenged by Democrat Tommy Grimes.

In the other county-wide race, incumbent Democratic county treasurer Linda Acosta is opposed by Republican Donna Orsag.

PRECINCT—There are three precinct-level races, including Precinct 3 ( Rockdale- Mi lano

Gause area) commissioner.

Republican John (Barney) Fisher and Democrat Andy Jackson are vying to replace Milam County’s longest-serving public official, Democrat Dale Jaecks, who is retiring.

Incumbent Precinct 1 Commissioner

George Tomek, a Republican, is challenged by Democrat Ricky McCall.

There’s a contested constable race in Precinct 4 where incumbent Democrat Giles Summerlin is opposed by Fred Keefer.

PRESIDENT—Of course the marquee-race, nation-wide, is between incumbent Democratic President Barack Obama and his Republican challenger, former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney.

Their vice-presidential running mates are incumbent Joe Biden (D) and Wisconsin Congressman Paul Ryan (R).

There are also two other presidential tickets, Libertarians Gary Johnson and Jim Gray and Green Party candidates Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala.

There’s also a write-in option for president.

CONTESTS—Here are the other contested races on Tuesday’s ballot:

U. S. Senator—Ted Cruz (R), Paul Sadler (D), John Jay Myers (L), David B. Collins (G).

U. S. Representative, District 17—Bill Flores (R), Ben Easton (L).

Railroad commissioner— Christi Craddick (R), Dale Henry (D), Vivikanada (Vik) Wall (L), Chris Kennedy (G).

Railroad commissioner (unexpired term)—Bar r y Smitherman (R), Jaime O. Perez (L), Josh Wendel (G).

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2—Don Willett (R), RS Roberto Koelsch (L).

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4—John Devine (R), Tom Oxford (L), Charles E. Waterbury (G).

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6—Nathan Hecht (R), Michele Petty (D), Mark Ash (L), Jim Chisholm (G).

Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals—Sharon Keller (R), Keith Hampton (D), Lance Stott (L).

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7—Barbara Parker Hervey (R), Mark W. Bennett (L).

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8—Elsa Alcala (R), William Bryan Strange III (L).

Member, State Board of Education, District 10—Tom Maynard (R), Judy Jennings (D).

State Senator, District 5— Charles Schwertner (R), Jeffrey Fox (L).

Just ice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 2— Jeff Rose (R), J. Andrew Hath- cock (D).

Just ice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 3— Scott Field (R), Diane Henson (D).

Just ice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 5— David Puryear (R), Karen L. Watkins (D).

Just ice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 6— Bob Pemberton (R), Bryan Case (D).

UNOPPOSED—The following, all Republicans, are unopposed:

State Representative, District 20—Marsha Farney.

Sher i ff— Dav id Greene (incumbent).

Precinct 1 Constable—John Anderle (incumbent).

Precinct 2 Constable— Charlie West (incumbent).

Precinct 3 Constable—Jay Willingham.

where to vote on tue sday

• Precinct 101, Milam County Courthouse, Cameron.
• Precinct 105, Buckholts Community Center.
• Precinct 203, Minerva Community Center.
• Precinct 207, Rockdale Regional Juvenile Justice
• Precinct 210, New Providence Baptist Church, Cameron. • Precinct 212, Cameron Community Center.
• Precinct 316, Gause Community Center.
• Precinct 317, Milano First Baptist Church.
• Precinct 318, Rockdale Volunteer Fire Department. • Precinct 419, First Baptist Church Family Life
Center, Rockdale.
• Precinct 420, Thorndale Recreational Hall (Firemen’s

where to vote THR OUGH FRIDAY

Early voting ends Friday. Hours are 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Rockdale Regional Juvenile Justice Center, Thorndale Fireman’s Hall (Recreational Center) and Buckholts Community Center and 8 a.m to 5 p.m. at the county clerk’s office in Cameron.

Through Tuesday (October 30) there were 3,469 early votes cast, including 1,086 in Rockdale.

Click here for digital edition
2012-11-01 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections