Area filing opens for city, school elections

Mayor, two council members, trustees on local ballots

Wednesday (Jan. 30) is the first day to file for May 11 city and school board elections in Texas and there will be six positions filled in Rockdale, with the terms of mayor and the current school board president expiring.

CITY—In the city election the terms of Mayor Larry Jones and council members Joyce Dalley (east ward) and Toby Johnson (west ward) are expiring.

All three were elected in contested races in 2010 and are completing their first terms.

Filing is 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at City Hall.

SCHOOL—Terms of three school board members expire in 2013.

Lee Jenkins, Place 4, is the RISD school board president and the board’s senior member. He was first elected in 2001 and and 2010.

He is completing his first term as board president, moving up in 2010 after longtime board president James Birkhead decided not to seek re-election.

Michelle Lehmkuhl, Place 3, is completing her second term. She was first elected in 2007 and was re-elected in 2010.

Wenda Dyer, Place 5, was elected in 2010 and is completing her first term.

Filing is 7:45 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. at the Central Administration Building, 520 West Davilla.

Final day to file in all races is Friday, March 1.

HOSPITAL DISTRICT— There will be no Rockdale Hospital District board election in 2013.

Hospital board elections are held in even-numbered years.

MILANO—Milano’s 2013 election will be a joint effort between the school district and city council with filing for both entities from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. weekdays at the superintendent’s office behind the elementary school.

Four positions will be filled in the Milano ISD, a trio of threeyear terms and a two-year unexpired term.

Three-year terms of incumbents Carl Blake, Dewey Steinbecker and Lynette Taylor are expiring, along with the two-year term of Shawn Walton.

Terms of Milano City Council members Carol Newman, Henry Dykes and David Gunnels Jr. are expiring this spring.

THORNDALE—Voters in Thorndale will pick a mayor, two council members and three school trustees on May 11.

Terms of Mayor Billy Simank and council members Stephanie Churchman and Don Culp are expiring in 2013.

Filing is 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays at Thorndale City Hall.

OFFICERS—Terms of Thorndale ISD Board President David Hall, vice-president Brian Fisher and trustee Deborah Stolte are expiring this year.

Filing is 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the Thorndale ISD Administration Building on FM 486.

Click here for digital edition
2013-01-31 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections