Voters crown King new mayor

Bland wins west ward city council race, Dalley re-elected in east ward
Reporter Editor

John King was elected mayor of Rockdale Saturday in a three-person race that turned out to be almost a carbon copy of the last mayoral race in 2010.

Nathan Bland claimed a west-ward council position in a matchup of political newcomers while east ward council member Joyce Dalley was re-elected.

All incumbents were re-elected in two Milano races and in all but one contest in Thorndale.

MAYOR—First-time candidate King polled 319 votes (60.42 percent) to replace Mayor Larry Jones without a runoff.

Collier Perry drew 174 votes (32.95 percent) while Toby Johnson had 35 (6.63 percent).

Perry also finished second in the 2010 mayoral election. Johnson, a current west ward council member, passed up a chance at re-election to seek the mayor’s post.

The 2013 ballot mirrored the 2010 results when Jones drew 314 votes, Perry polled 209 and Rev. Darrell Grear had 31.

COUNCIL—Bland drew 252 votes (60.72 percent), while Trent Wages polled 163 (39.28 percent).

In the east ward, Dalley was re-elected to a second term, getting 77 votes (72.64 percent), while Lawhon drew 29 (27.36 percent).

In all, there were 415 persons voting in the west ward and 106 in the east ward. By law, the wards have roughly equal populations.

This year’s city turnout was 528, compared to 554 three years ago.

Continuing a trend in recent elections, more persons voted early than on election day. Early voting total was 314, while 209 voted on election day.

One provisional vote was cast. The voter registrar has four days from Monday to decide whether to allow the provisional ballot to be counted.

All totals are preliminary until they are canvassed in a special meeting of the city council at 1 p.m. Friday.

MILANO—Four incumbents were returned to the school board and three to the city council in Milano on Saturday.

Carl Dean Blake led the school board race with 89 votes. Also returned were Lynnette Taylor with 81 and Dewey Steinbecker with 63.

It was a four-person race for three positions. Lynn Martin polled 58 votes, five behind Steinbecker.

Incumbent Shawn Walton, running unopposed for the remainder of an expired term, drew 63 votes.

Three incumbent city council members were returned in a five- candidate race for three positions.

David Gunnels Jr. drew 36 votes, Henry Dykes 32 and Carol Newman 30.

Both chal lengers, Claude Lagrone and Kara Zawadzke Clore, received 22 votes.

THORNDALE—Mayor Billy Simank defeated former mayor Gerald Niemtschk to win another term.

Simank polled 84 votes to 44 for Niemtschk.

Council members Stephanie Churchman and Don Culp, running unopposed, drew 86 and 69 votes respectively.

Thorndale voters “re-authorized” the city’s one-fourth percent sales tax for street maintenance by a vote of 107-18.

The sales tax was first instituted four years ago and is subject to a re-authorization vote every four years.

In a four-candidates-for-threeplaces Thorndale ISD school board race, newcomer Kevin Kiesling led the ballot with 143 votes and trustees David Hall (129) and Deborah Stolte (110) were returned to office.

Incumbent Brian Fisher polled 96.

NO ELECTIONS—There was no Rockdale ISD school board election as incumbents Lee Jenkins, Michelle Lehmkuhl and Wenda Dyer were the only candidates filing and the election was canceled.

No terms for the Rockdale Hospital District expire in 2013.

Click here for digital edition
2013-05-16 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections