Lady Tigers place 10 on 18-3A all-district team

Montelongo defensive MVP, Keen coach of the year

Ten members of the Rockdale Lady Tiger softball team were named to the 18-3A All-District squad.

Senior Kayleigh Montelongo was selected as the most valuable defensive player.

Oddly, coaches chose Caldwell freshman Casey Kauder the overall most valuable player over Montelongo, despite the fact that the Lady Tigers defeated her and the Hornets twice.

Senior Marissa Mireles, juniors Alyssa Wallis and Amanda Boyd and sophomore Faith Talley were chosen for the first team.

Rockdale Coach Amanda Keen was named the coach of the year along with Caldwell’s Wendy Weiss. Rockdale and Caldwell tied for the district championship, while Rockdale won a playoff for first position in the playoffs. ALL-DISTRICT 18-3A SOFTBALL Coach Of The Year: Amanda Keen, Rockdale; Wendy Weiss, Caldwell.

Overall MVP: Casey Kauder, Caldwell. Offensive MVP: Selena Lopez,
Defensive MVP: Kayleigh Montelongo, Rockdale.
Newcomer of Year: Alyssa Vega,
College Station.
1st Team
SS—Macey Foster, Sr., Caldwell;
Marissa Mireles, Sr., Rockdale;
Kailye Marek, Jr., Taylor.
2B—Gaby Martinez, So., Caldwell. 3B—Faith Talley, So., Rockdale
Catcher—Kacey Creel, Sr., Madisonville. Outfield—Daphne Landry, So.,
Madisonville; Alyssa Wallis, Jr.,
Rockdale; Amanda Boyd, Jr.,
DH—Kayla Deary, Jr., Rockdale; Catherine Mendez, So.,
Pitcher—Lauren Peacock, Jr.,
Madisonville; Paige Currie, So.,
College Station.
Utility—Hope Spacek, Fr., College
2nd Team
Infield—Emily McCoy, Jr., Rockdale; Libby Fischer, So., Taylor;
Caitlyn Courtney, Fr., Caldwell; Kristi
Bangs, So., College Station; Kelsey
Poston, Jr., College Station. Catcher— Maci Wages, Jr., Rockdale.
Outfield—Morgan Fischer, Sr.,

Rockdale; Hannah Spacek, Fr.,
College Station; Sydni Uilkie, Jr.,
Navasota. DH—Lauren Vrana, Sr.,
Taylor. Pitcher:—Kayley Smith, Fr.,
Madisonville; Kristen Pursley, Fr.,
College Station.Utility—Madison
Witherwax, Fr., Navasota.
Honorable Mention:
Lisa Vest, Sr., Rockdale; Kassidy
Childers Lisa, Madisonville; Blair
Clayton, Caldwell; Jordan Schehin,
Caldwell; Tera Espinosa, Caldwell;
Kynsee Geesch, Navasota; Savannah Kaspar, Taylor; Katelyn Roznovak, Taylor; Brianda Ruiz, Taylor;
Keaton Schrank, College Station;
Hanna Polen, College Station...

Click here for digital edition
2013-05-23 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections