Milano scholarships total over $149,000

Guthrie, Willingham give commencement speeches

Valedictorian Stonie Guthrie (left) and salutatorian Jacob Willingham each spoke during commencement ceremonies held for Milano High School on Friday night. 
Reporter/Marie Bakken Valedictorian Stonie Guthrie (left) and salutatorian Jacob Willingham each spoke during commencement ceremonies held for Milano High School on Friday night. Reporter/Marie Bakken MILANO–Graduates had their week a little spread out in Milano with scholarships awarded on Monday night and diplomas handed out on Friday.

For the first time the two were completely split with graduates receiving awards and scholarship money at an academic banquet held prior to commencement ceremonies. Some, if not all scholarships used to be handed out during graduation.

On Friday night, the 24-member Class of 2013 heard speeches from valedictorian Stonie Lyn Guthrie and salutatorian Jacob Charles Willingham and were presented their diplomas by board trustee president Edward Westbrook during graduation ceremonies held at Pruett Field.

SCHOLARSHIPS—Graduates were awarded $149,445 in scholarships and awards at an academic banquet held May 27.

Recipients area as follows:

Texas Tech University Department of Chemical Engineering— Toby Sanders ($37,200).

Texas A&M University-Kingsville Presidential–Victoria Walker ($16,000).

Texas A&M President’s Endowment– Stonie Guthrie ($12,000).

Texas A&M Lechner—Stonie Guthrie ($10,000).

Bl inn Col lege Trustee— Hayleigh LaGrone ($8,000).

Texas A& M Valedictorian– Stonie Guthrie ($5,300).

State Fair of Texas Youth Livestock—Jacob Willingham ($5,000).

West Texas A&M University (football)—Dominique Messer ($4,000).

Stephen F. Austin University— Brianna Roth ($2,395).

Blinn College Exemplary— Hayleigh LaGrone ($2,000).

Milam County Area Go Texan— Jacob Willingham ($2,000).

Rockdale Fair Association— Jacob Willingham ($2,000).

Blinn College Endowment— Hayleigh LaGrone ($1,600).

Bartlett Electric Cooperative— Stonie Guthrie ($1,500).

Texas A&M Top 10% State— Stonie Guthrie ($1,500).

Addie Belle Swenson Memorial– Kaila Heil ($1,000).

Becky Dent Memorial—Victoria Walker ($1,000).

Caldwell Knights of Columbus— Michael Elston ($1,000).

Charlie Martin Memorial—Toby Sanders ($1,000).

McLennan Community College Theatre Department—Mary Allyson Steinbecker ($1,000).

Milano Alumni Association— Rhett Endsley, Maria Flores, Brittany Stowe ($1,000 each).

Milano Evening Lions Club — Hayleigh LaGrone ($1,000).

Milano Livestock Exchange— Jacob Willingham ($1,000).

Milano Masonic Lodge 605 AF&AM—Michael Elston, Stonie Guthrie, Hayleigh LaGrone, Kristen Polich, Mary Allyson Steinbecker ($1,000 each).

Milano Opry–Michael Elston, Brianna Roth, Toby Sanders, Mary Allyson Steinbecker ($1,000 each).

Oleta Modesett Wise Memorial– Kiersten Bastow, Raighley Shaw, Samantha Waldrep, Jacob Willingham ($1,000 each).

Texas A& M Oppor tunity Award—Stonie Guthrie ($1,000).

Bootsie Peebles Memorial— Hayleigh LaGrone ($750).

MHS-The Eagle: Agriculture Studies—Michael Elston, Jacob Willingham ($600 each).

MHS-The Eagle: Business/ Technology—Kaila Heil, Kristen Polich ($600 each).

MHS-The Eagle: English— Stonie Guthrie, Victoria Walker ($600 each).

MHS-The Eagle: Fine Arts— Hayleigh LaGrone, Mary Allyson Steinbecker ($600 each).

MHS-The Eagle: History—Toby Sanders, Samantha Waldrep ($600 each).

MHS-The Eagle: Math—Stonie Guthrie, Jacob Willingham ($600 each).

MHS-The Eagle: Science— Hayleigh LaGrone, Victoria Walker ($600 each).

American Legion Carlyle Post 358—Stonie Guthrie ($500).

Louise Hale Sessions Memorial Scholarship—Mary Allyson Steinbecker ($500).

Milano Athletic Booster Club— Michael Elston, Stonie Guthrie, Hayleigh LaGrone, Dominique Messer, Toby Sanders, Jacob Willingham ($500 each).

Owen & Dorothy Knight Memorial Scholarship—Michael Elston, Rhett Endsley, Hayleigh LaGrone ($500 each).

American Red Cross “Young Minds Change Lives”—Rhett Endsley, Samantha Waldrep ($250 each).

Heart O’ Texas Fair and Rodeo— Jacob Willingham ($250).

Gause VFD—Brianna Roth ($250)

Gause Community Improvement Program—Brianna Roth ($200).

Milam County Farm Bureau— Jacob Willingham ($100).

Click here for digital edition
2013-06-06 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections