Services for Eleanor “Red” McBride, 63, of Pflugerville, formerly of Rockdale, will be held at 11 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 28, 2013, at New Hope Baptist Church in Rockdale. Graveside services will be held at 2:30 p.m. at Cook-Walden Capital Park in Pflugerville. Pastor Billy Walker of Turning Point Church in Dallas will officiate.

Ms. McBride died Saturday, Sept. 21, at her home in Pflugerville.

She was born Aug. 30, 1950, in Rockdale to Floyd Morgan and Leona Bacy Morgan.

Ms. McBride was an inventory specialist with East West Manufacturer.

She had been a Pflugerville resident for the past 15 years.

Ms. McBride was a Dallas Cowboy fan, enjoyed cooking for family and friends, and was always a woman of strong faith.

She loved her grandchildren like a mother and everyone called her “Granny.”

Ms. McBride was regarded as the “mother” of the Austin Striders Track Club.

She received a bachelors degree in theological studies from The Institute for Teaching God’s Word and an associates degree in key punch from El Centro in Dallas.

Ms. McBride was preceded in death by her parents and five siblings, Lottie Mae Smith, Henrietta Randle, Lucy Ray Jordan, Selvia Edward Crawford Jr. and Clarence Edward Crawford Jr.

Survivors are a son, Jermaine Walker and wife Glyn of Pflugerville; three daughters, Tammie LaGail Marion of Abilene, Sharonda Rene Walker of DeSota,

Stacy Lynn Pruitt of Pf lugerville; five sisters, Amanda Reed of Lubbock, Cathy Pride and Linda Ford, both of Rockdale, Gloria Nell Majors of Dallas, Sandra McNeil of Memphis, Tennessee; two brothers, Don Miller of San Antonio, Henry Miller of Rockdale; 10 grandchildren, Tawanisia Nicole Marion, Jasmine Latrice Yezino, Ladetrick Darney Marion, Shyquinshala Walker, Shavona Xaviera Tavarez, Alexis Danae Walker, Tyasia Marie Mitchell, Xavier Anthony Lucio, Jayden Mitchal Smith and Ayden Rogers; and two great-grandchildren, Camri Serenity Jackson and Thaddeus Kyerre Brady.

Pallbearers will be Harvey Ware, Howard Ware, Quintun Brady, Tyrone Mitchell, Kenneth Griffin and Shelton Haywood.

Honorary pallbearers will be Edward Bell, Harrison Carter Fowler, Hayden Fowler, Christopher Ware, Joseph Weathersby and Curtis Green.

Click here for digital edition
2013-09-26 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections