Awards, recognitions given out at 4-H Celebration banquet

Fisher, Kostroun win Gold Star awards
Cheryl Walker
Extension Agent

Gold Star winners were announced at Sunday’s 4-H Celebration in Cameron. Pictured are (l-r) Jay Beckhusen (representing Milam County Farm Bureau and Milano Livestock Exchange), Gold Star winner Collin Kostroun, Gold Star winner Hailee Fisher and Stephen Fuchs representing Cameron Chamber of Commerce. Gold Star winners were announced at Sunday’s 4-H Celebration in Cameron. Pictured are (l-r) Jay Beckhusen (representing Milam County Farm Bureau and Milano Livestock Exchange), Gold Star winner Collin Kostroun, Gold Star winner Hailee Fisher and Stephen Fuchs representing Cameron Chamber of Commerce. National 4-H Week kicked off on Sunday, Oct. 6 with the Milam County 4-H Celebration. The annual awards ceremony recognized 4-Hers, leaders and sponsors for their accomplishments and support. This year it was conducted at the Performing Arts Center at the Cameron’s Yoe High School with over 100 youth and adults attending.

All of the awards are important to the success of the Milam County 4-H program, but the highest county 4-H award is the Gold Star. Senior 4-Hers can only receive the award once and the 2013 Gold Star Winners were Hailee Fisher and Collin Kostroun. Both award winners received a plaque from the Cameron Chamber of Commerce, Stephen Fuchs, chairman. They also received a certificate of recognition from Congressman Bill Flores.

Hailee received a $100 award from Milano Livestock Auction presented by Jay Beckhusen. She is a Thorndale 4-H Club member and the daughter of Brian and Michelle Fisher. Collin received a $100 award from Milam County Farm Bureau presented by Jay Beckhusen. He is a Cameron 4-H Club member and the son of David and Jennifer Kostroun. The Gold Star winners will also be recognized at the District 8 Gold Star Banquet on Oct. 23 in Waco.

The I Dare You Award is also presented to senior 4-H members. This year’s winner is Danielle Pedroza of the Thorndale 4- H Club. She is the daughter of Joe and Stacey Pedroza. Thanks goes out to Phil and Debbie Konarik of Rockdale who are the new sponsors for the I Dare You Award.

Our intermediate age 4-Hers can submit an application for the Silver Star Award. Marek- Burns-Laywell Funeral Home in Cameron sponsors the plaque for this award. This year Jacob Barron a Thorndale 4-Her received the award. He is the son of Jeff and Cheryl Barron.

Junior age 4-Hers compete for the Bronze Star Award. Milam County Judge Dave Barkemeyer has sponsored this award since the first presentation four years ago. This year the winners are Kevin Junek a Cameron 4-Her who is the son of Don and Shelly Junek and Katelyn Trowbridge, a Gause 4-Her who is the daughter of Donnie and Jennifer Trowbridge.

Each year 4-Hers who place first in a state contest are recognized for their achievements. The first time state winners receive a 4-H jacket or blanket from sponsors. This year 4-H had four first time state winners and 16 repeat state winners. Here is a listing of the state winners:

• Rebecca Kostroun is the daughter of Richard and Sara Kostroun from Cameron. She won first place at the 2013 Fort Worth Livestock Show in Plant I.D. Jr. Division. Her blanket sponsor was Anderle Lumber Company represented by James Anderle.

• Jacob Pedroza is the son of Joe and Stacey Pedroza from Thorndale. He won first place in the 2013 State Shooting Sports 3D Archery Jr. Division. His jacket sponsor was Buckholts State Bank represented by Kimberly Dach.

• Kevin Junek is the son of Don and Shelly Junek of Cameron. He won first place in the 2013 Shooting Sports Postal League Precision Air Rifle Jr. Division. His jacket sponsor was Ideal Poultry represented by Stephen Fuchs.

• Kayla Patin is the daughter of Jimmy and Tammy Patin of Thorndale. She won first place in her class at the 2013 San Antonio Livestock Show. Her jacket sponsor was Rodenbeck Farm and Ranch and Thorndale Meat Market represented by Jay Beckhusen.

The 4- Hers that have already won jackets, but still continue to receive first place awards during state contests are: Patrick Cobb, Patrick Dean, William Dean, Devin Fisher, Kellie Foster, Heath Hollas, Kassidy Hundle, Kaylee Jackson, Collin Kostroun, Madeline Kostroun, Mason Lindig, Cheyenne McWilliams, Addie Reisner, Corbin Preusse, Corey Preusse, Karl Woelfel.

4-Hers that apply for Gold Star, I Dare You, Silver Star, and Bronze Star award must submit recordbooks of their 4-H accomplishments. 4-Hers wanting to compete in project divisions also must submit recordbooks. Thirty-three 4-Hers submitted recordbooks and received project pins at the 4-H Celebration.

4-Hers can also be recognized for their accomplishments with County Achievement Awards. This year District Judge John Youngblood was added as a sponsor for these awards. Each award winner received a 4-H luggage tag from Judge Youngblood.

Clover Novice Awards—(kindergarten - 2nd graders) were presented to Connor Barton, Jack Luckey, Ryan Luckey, Jude Penick.

Honor Roll Awards ( junior age)— Colby Barton, Kassidy Hundle, Jacob Pedroza, Jason Penick, Jimmy Penick, Gabriel Ramthun, Katelyn Trowbridge.

All- Star Awards ( intermediate age)— Jacob Barron, Chandler Barton, Cameron Cooper, Gracen Dach, Patrick Dean, Logan Fisher, Julia Harwell, Kendall Lee, Jake Pencik.

Letterman Awards (senior age)— Connelly Cooper, A. J. Harwell, Emily McCoy.

Promotion of 4-H in Milam County is important and our 4-Hers guide this promotion by selecting a yearly slogan along with drawing pictures for the annual calendar. This year Connelly Cooper submitted the winning slogan , “4-H...Leaders 4 Tomorrow.” The calendar drawing winners were: Beginners—1. Ryan Luckey, 2. Kaylee Veit, 3. Macy McDaniel.

Juniors—1. Katelyn Trowbridge, 2. Bailey Baggerly, 3. Mallory McDaniel

Intermediates—1. Houston Harris, 2. and 3. Jake Penick.

Along with the recognition of 4- Hers, each year Milam County 4- H Clubs acknowledge their top supporters and leaders. Cameron 4-H presented top supporter award to Abiding Savior Lutheran Church received by David Harwell and Janet Hundle as top leader. Milam County 4-H Shooting Sports and Rockdale 4-H Club both presented top supporter awards to New Salem Extension Education Association received by Betty Backhaus and Carolyn Taylor.

Rockdale 4-H recognized Trisha Jones as top leader. Thorndale 4-H recognized their top supporter as Thorndale Volunteer Fire Department received by Douglas Waiser and Jimmy and Tammy Patin as top leaders.

Another award for companies, individuals and organizations that provide financial support for the county program is the Recognition Awards. Without their generosity, the 4-Hers and leaders would not be able to participate in the variety of activities. Thanks to the following for supporting 4-H:

Anderle Lumber Company, Buckholts State Bank, Budget Host Inns & Suites, Cameron Lions Club, Cameron Chamber of Commerce, Ideal Poultry, Cameron Cleaners and Circle S BBQ, Citizens National Bank, Classic Bank, Coulfal Prater-John Deere Cameron, County Judge Dave Barkemeyer, District Judge John Youngblood, Marek- Burns- Laywell Funeral Home, Milam County Farm Bureau, Rodenbeck Farm and Ranch, Thorndale Meat Market.

Also, Milam County Extension Education Association, New Salem Extension Education Association, Milano Livestock Auction, Friendly Progressive Extension Education Association, Dr. Barron Rector, Rockdale Federal Credit Union, Thorndale Senior Citizens Center, Thorndale Chamber of Commerce, Thorndale Volunteer Fire Department.

Click here for digital edition
2013-10-10 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections