Thorndale boys run away with district cross country crown

Thorndale girls, Milano boys and girls also qualify for regionals
Reporter Staff Writer

The Thorndale boys captured the district championship in cross country. Back to Front—Isidro Hernandez, Chase Kiesling, Ray Stewart, Brian Crockett, Americo Vazquez, Jordan Hafley, Eric Guzman. 
Reporter/Teresa Ging The Thorndale boys captured the district championship in cross country. Back to Front—Isidro Hernandez, Chase Kiesling, Ray Stewart, Brian Crockett, Americo Vazquez, Jordan Hafley, Eric Guzman. Reporter/Teresa Ging There will be a large contingency of Milam County runners at the Class A Region IV cross country meet on Saturday at the National Shooting Course in San Antonio. Both boys and girls varsity teams from Thorndale and Milano and qualified for the event.

They did so at the District 27A meet held Oct. 21 at Old Settlers Park in Round Rock.

The Class A girls will run at 9 a.m., followed by the Class A boys at 9:20 a.m. The top three teams and top 10 individual finishers will qualify for the UIL State Cross Country Championship to be held at Old Settlers Park on Nov. 9.

The Thorndale varsity boys won the district title over Bartlett, who was second. The Bulldogs were led by Brian Crockett’s third place finishing time of 19:23. Americo Vasquez was fourth with a time of 19:40.

Milano’s Kain Dodd was fifth in district. Milano’s Kain Dodd was fifth in district. Other Thorndale runners were: Jordan Hafley (8th, 20:06), Ray Stewart (11th, 20:14), Eric Guzman 14th, 20:34), Isidro Hernandez (26th, 22:10) and Chase Kiesling (31st, 22:31).

Milano’s varsity boys placed third, behind a fifth place finish by Kain Dodd, who ran a 19:49 course.

Other runners for the Milano varsity boys were: Derek Walton (15th, 20:34), Treyton Steinbecker (18th, 20:48), Efrain Flores (20th, 21:19), Jason Paniagua (29th, 22:23) and Justin Grimes (33rd, 22:38).

VARSITY GIRLS— The Thorndale Lady Dogs were second overall as a team and the Milano Lady Eagles were third at the district meet. Thrall won the girls team championship.

Thorndale was led by Hope Onstot’s fourth place finish in 14:19.

Other Lady Dog runners were: Faith Onstot (13th, 15:32), Shelby Anders (14th, 15:43), Peytyn O’Campo (23rd, 16:37), Shelby Thomason (27 th, 17: 09) and Julianna Byrd (28th, 17:14).

Milano was paced by Megan Pendergrass, who finished 10th with a time of 14:49.

Other Lady Eagle r unners were: Melodie Jones (11th, 14:52), Sarah Pedroza (16th, 15:56), Madison Westbrook (26th, 17:00) and Trinity Baxter (29th, 17:17).

Milano’s lone JV girls runner, Victoria Gaston, placed 11th overall with a time of 17:20. Eagle runners in the JV boys race were Chandler Sullivan and Bryce Hughes. Sullivan was 10th with a time of 14:51 and Hughes was 11th with a 14:53.

JUNIOR HIGH—Thorndale’s junior high girls team also won their respective district title. They were led by Presley Anastas’ second place finish with a time of 13:48.

Other Thorndale runners were: Kylie Buchannan (8th, 14:06), Elise Biar (6th, 14:19), Hanna Lawrence (7th, 14:37), Casey Carter, (8th, 14:38), Peyton Anastas (9th, 14:44), Landry Lay well (15h, 15:16), Jordyne Bigan (16th, 15:26) and Devin Dickerson (17th, 15:39).

Faith Walton paced Gause’s fourth place team finish, earning third place individually with a time of 13:55.

Other Gause runners were: Natalie Jones (14th, 15:15), MaKinze Huffman, (25th, 17:38), Abbigail Miller (27th, 17:47), Angela Zeig (35th, 19:00).

In the junior high boys division, Milano’s team finished second overall, anchored by Kaleb Dodd (13:28) who was ninth and Ben King (13:32) who was 10th. Also on the team was Christian Thurman (21st, 14:52), Parker Jones (25th, 15:25), Anthony Boykin (26th, 15:35) and Mason Westbrook (43rd, 19:34).

For Thorndale, Scott Guzman finished second overall with a time of 12:11.

Other Bulldog runners were: Justin Elms (22nd, 14:54) and Leander Williams (24th, 15:06).

Gause boys team finished fourth, led by Zack Smith at 29th with a time of 16:06.

Other Bear runners were: Timothy Demeritt (30th, 16:12), Clay Sheppard ( 34th, 16:34), Seth Vinton (41st, 19:16) and Jaxon Hayles (42nd, 19:27).

ROCKDALE— Rockdale didn’t have enough runners to field a team in any divisions, but those RHS runners who did participate finished well in the District 18- 3A meet held Wednesday in Caldwell.

Lady Tiger varsity runners Suzy Arvizu and Alyssa Wallis finished 23rd and 24th overall, respectively in their race. Arvizu ran a 14:54 and Wallis 14:55.

College Station’s Kelsie Warren wontheracein10:55. College Station also won the varsity girls team title with all seven of its runners finishing in the top 10.

In the junior varsity girls race, Rockdale’s Katy Salazar was 30thina timeof16:45. Emily Ibarra was 31st and ran a 16:51.

Rockdale’s John Rivers was 27th in the junior varsity boys race in a time of 21:04. Blake King was 34th in that race with a time of 21:47.

Rockdale’s junior high cross country team consisted of just two runners. Paola Alvarez was 17th out of 61 racers in the eighth grade girls race and Gavin Young was 24th out of 65 runners in the seventh grade boys race.

Click here for digital edition
2013-10-31 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections