Saturday first filing day for ‘14 primaries

Saturday is the first day to file for the 2014 Republican and Democratic Primaries and the field of announced candidates has grown by two more during the week.

County Judge David Barkemeyer has announced he will seek another term and will be a candidate in the March 4 Republican Primary.

Also announcing as a GOP candidate was Kim Stewart. She is seeking the Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace post currently held by Republican Andy Isaacs.

Their candidate statements are on page 5B.

Two weeks ago, Jay Beathard announced he would seek the GOP nomination for Precinct 3 constable. That post is currently held by Republican Carol Wells.

Kyle Deal, interim chair of the Milam County Republican Party, said on Saturday the party will open the Williams Civic Center in Cameron between 9 a.m. and 1 p.m. for the convenience of candidates who wish to file.

“Candidates may contact me at 254-627-9349,” he said.

Deal said a GOP headquarters location will be announced later.

The Milam Republican Executive Committee will meet Tuesday to select a permanent successor to Bill Whitmire, who resigned last month.

DEMOCRATS—Milam County Democratic Chair Richard Stone said although the party headquarters, 202 West Sixth in Cameron, would not be open on Saturday, he would be available by phone or e-mail that day.

Phone is 512- 760- 5748 and e-mail is The party’s mailing address is: Milam County Democratic Party, PO Box 1251, Cameron, TX 76520.

“Contact me and we will set up a time to meet,” he said.

Stone said someone should be at the party office during normal business hours until the filing period ends Dec. 9.

Other Milam County offices, and the current incumbent, to be filled in the 2014 election are:

• District clerk, Cindy Fechner (D).

• County clerk, Barbara Vansa (D).

• County treasurer, Donna Orsag (R).

• Precinct 1 commissioner, Chuck “Tank” Balch (R).

• Precinct 2 commissioner, Kenneth Hollas (D).

• Precinct 4 commissioner, Jeff Muegge (D).

• Precinct 1 justice- of-thepeace, Rick Gommert (R).

• Precinct 2 justice- of-thepeace, Sam Berry (R).

• Precinct 4 justice- of-thepeace, Gary Northcutt (D).

Click here for digital edition
2013-11-07 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections