POSGCD directors unseated in votes

Hodson, Tumlinson out; Starnes wins

Two of the three incumbent members of the Post Oak Savannah Groundwater Conservation District (POSGCD) board of directors, whose terms expire this year, were voted out of office Monday morning in split votes of the Milam County commissioners court.

Jim Hodson, who had been Milam ’s industrial representative since the board’s inception 10 years ago, was unseated by Sidney Youngblood on a 4-1 vote.

Jay Tumlinson will be replaced by Durwood Tucker. The two ended up in a runoff after a first ballot failed to produce a winner. Tucker won 3-2.

Only incumbent Kerry Starnes survived Monday’s decisions. He received four votes to one for Steven Wise.

PROCEDURE—It was the first time the appointed Milam POSGCD members had been named in this kind of procedure.

Candidates were submitted to the commissioners court and County Judge Dave Barkemeyer called for three different votes, by position.

Most involved vote was for the board agricultural representative, currently held by Tumlinson. In the first ballot, Precinct 4 Commissioner Jeff Muegge nominated Tucker, Precinct 3 Commissioner John Fisher nominated Ann Stanislaw and Precinct 2 Commissioner Kenneth Hollas nom- inated Tucker.

The vote was 2-2-1 with Hollas and Precinct 1 Commissioner Tank Balch voting for Tumlinson, Muegge and County Judge Dave Barkemeyer for Tucker and Fisher voting for Stanislaw.

With none getting a majority (three votes), the matter went to a second ballot between the top two finishers from the first.

Fisher changed his vote from Stanislaw to Tucker, resulting in Tucker’s election on a 3-2 result.

On the industrial vote, Muegge nominated incumbent Hodson and Balch nominated Youngblood.

The vote was three for Youngblood (Balch, Barkemeyer and Fisher) and two for Hodson (Muegge and Hollas).

The municipal vote was 4-1 with Barkemeyer, Balch, Muegge and Hollas choosing Starnes and Fisher voting for Wise.

Balch had nominated Starnes and Fisher nominated Wise.

Barkemeyer had asked that commissioners not discuss their choices prior to the meeting.

“So far as I know, everyone honored that request,” he said. “I don’t believe anyone knew how this was going to go until the votes were taken.”

“Personally, I thought there needed to be some rotation and that happened,” Barkemeyer said.

In other business Monday, commissioners:

• Cast the county’s votes for appraisal district director as follows: Don Culp, 582; Mike Marek, 428; Travis Yoakum, 448.

• Okayed a tax abatement package for Little River Healthcare Cameron Hospital.

• Approved the appointment of Kara Clore, manager of Rockdale Municipal Development District (MDD), to replace Deedra Jacob, former Rockdale Chamber of Commerce president, on the county Industrial Development Board of Directors.

Click here for digital edition
2013-11-28 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections