Milano’s Millar named District 13A-II MVP

Ten players in 12 positions make first team

MILANO— Milano senior quarterback Jordan Millar, who helped lead the Eagles to the furthest they’ve ever been in the state football playoffs, has been named most valuable player in District 13A-II.

Millar, who led the team in passing and rushing this season, came in this year to replace two year starting signal caller Toby Sanders who graduated in May.

Millar compiled 3,673 of total offensethisseason. Herushed for 2,514 yards and 34 touchdowns, passed for 1,145 yards and 12 scores and caught one pass for 14 yards.

He also had 36 tackles on the season.

Milano placed 10 players in 12 positions on the first team and six players in six positions on the second team.

On the first team were seniors Nick Bonorden (wide receiver and corner back), David Jentsch (tight end and defensive line), Chance Pack (running back), Mik Mader (wide receiver), Chris Rowan (defensive line) and Alex Ferrara (outside linebacker), along with juniors Randy Pedroza (offensive line) and Trent Ellison (defensive line) and sophomore Cole Sheppard (inside linebacker).

Earning second team nods were seniors Kody Love (offensive line) and Cody Alexander (defensive line), juniors Derek Walton (defensive back), Treyton Steinbecker (wide receiver) and Makenan Hairston (outside linebacker) and sophomore Christian Grimes (defensive back).

Milano also had four honorable mentions and six make academic all-district.

The Eagles finished 10-3 on the year and second in 13A-II. They reached the third round of the playoffs, further than any other team in the league.

District 13A-II All-District teams

District MVP— Jordan Millar, Milano, sr.

District Defensive MVP— Louis Brown, Burton, jr.

District Offensive MVP—Tanner Demuth, Burton, sr.

District Newcomers of Year—Malik Roy, Somerville, so.; Jamon Bradley, Burton, fr.

District Special Teamer—Zach Pruett, Bartlett, jr.

Coach of the year—Jason Hodde, Burton.

First team

Offensive line—Ryan Rollins, Burton, sr.; Brandon Salinas, Burton, jr.; Valente Rosales, Burton, sr.; Randy Pedroza, Milano, jr.; Justin Tarver, Snook, jr.; Juan Garza, Bartlett, sr.; Blake Bilbrey, Granger, so.; Demarcus Foster, Somerville, sr.; Daniel Ripple, Burton, sr.

Tight ends—David Jentsch, Milano, sr.; Tristan Like, Somerville, sr.

Wide receivers— Darrion Swain, Snook, so.; Kelvin Alston, Bartlett, sr.; Devin Alston, Bartlett, sr.; Garrett Drake, Granger, jr.; Keanu Graves, Somerville, sr.; Nathan Coronado, Somerville, sr.; Triston Eckermann, Burton, sr.; Nick Bonorden, Milano, sr.; Mik Mader, Milano, sr.

Running backs—Andre Pope, Bartlett, sr.; Bryce Jimenez, Granger, sr.; Chance Pack, Milano, sr.; Davonte Allen, Snook, jr.

Quarterbacks— Deon Hamilton, Snook, jr.; Weston Rafay, Bartlett, sr.

Punter—Nathan Coronado, Somerville, sr.

Utility athlete— Zach Hawkins, Somerville, sr.; Jake Kaderka, Granger, sr.

Defensive line—Tristan Like, Somerville, sr.; Valente Rosales, Burton, sr.; Daniel Ripple, Burton, sr.; Chris Rowan, Milano, sr.; Trent Ellison, Milano, jr.; David Jentsch, Milano, sr.; Daveon Johnson, Snook, jr.; Fernando Torres, Bartlett, sr.

Inside linebackers—Ryan Rollins, Burton, sr.; Brandon Salinas, Burton, jr.; Cole Sheppard, Milano, so.; Corey Miller, Granger, sr.

Outside linebackers— Alex Ferrara, Milano, sr.; Johnny Garcia, Bartlett, sr.; Bryce Jimenez, Granger, sr.; Nathan Coronado, Somerville, sr.

Safety—Garrett Drake, Granger, jr.; Zach Hawkins, Somerville, sr.; Triston Eckermann, Burton, sr.

Corner backs— Nick Bonorden, Milano, sr.; Darrion Swain, Snook, so.; James McKinney, Bartlett, sr.; Donnell Patterson, Burton, fr.

Second team

Offensive linemen— Kody Love, Milano, sr.; Wide receivers—Treyton Steinbecker, Milano, jr.; Defensive line—Cody Alexander, Milano, sr.; Outside linebackers—Makenan Hairston, Milano, jr.

Defensive backs— Derek Walton, Milano, jr.; Christian Grimes, Milano, so.; Honorable mention (Milano only)—Treyton Steinbecker, cornerback, jr.; Tyler Blake, offensive line, jr.; Josh Lewis, offensive line, so.; Dillon Liscum, offensive line, so.

Academic (Milano only)—David Jentsch, Justin Grimes, Alex Ferrara, Cody Alexander, Treyton Steinbecker, Sabian Pugh.

Click here for digital edition
2013-12-05 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2017 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections