Primary vote to pick county judge Tuesday

Six contests for Republican ballot
Reporter Editor

The rematch is Tuesday.

For the second time in four years the contest to determine who will serve as Milam County Judge for the next four years is between Dave Barkemeyer and Frank Summers.

And for the second time, one is the incumbent and one is the challenger. It’s just that the roles are reversed this time around.

That’s the premier local race in 2014 primary elections which are set for Tuesday with six contested races on the Milam County Republican ballot.

EARLY VOTING— Early voting ends Friday at four locations—Rockdale Regional Juvenile Justice Center (9 to 4), County Clerk’s office, Cameron (8 to 5), Thorndale Firemen’s Hall (9 to 4) and Buckholts Community Center (9 to 4).

Through Tuesday there had been 931 early ballots cast in the Republican Primary, 127 in the Democratic Primary.

THE BIG ONE—In the general election four years ago, Summers was the incumbent three-term Democratic candidate and Barkemeyer the Republican challenger.

Barkemeyer won the election 3,570 to 2,749.

Both men are in the GOP Primary in 2014. There is no Democratic challenger in November.

CONTESTS—In the five other GOP contests the primary winner also will not face Democratic opposition in the general election.

Jay Beathard and Dale Keen are vying for the Precinct 3 constable position vacated by Republican Carol Wells.

Incumbent Andy Isaacs is challenged by Kim Stewart for Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace.

Mike Marek and Donald Ray Shuffield are on the ballot to replace incumbent Democrat Kenneth Hollas as Precinct 2 commissioner. Hollas did not seek re-election.

Incumbent Donna Orsag faces Linda Acosta in the county treasurer’s race.

Karen Berry and Margot Contreras are vying for the district clerk spot. Incumbent Democrat Cindy Fechner did not seek re-election.

CONTEST—There are no contested Democratic Primary races but two incumbent Democrats— County Clerk Barbara Vansa and Precinct 4 Commissioner Jeff Muegge—have no Republican opposition in the general election.

There will, however, be two contested Republican Democrat races in November.

For Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace, incumbent Gary Northcott (D) will face Wanda Hobbs (R).

For Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace, incumbent Sam Berry (R) faces Don Schuerman (D).

Two Republicans have no opposition either in Tuesday’s primary or the general election.

They are Precinct 1 Commissioner Chuck “Tank” Balch and Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace Rick Gommert.

Incumbent Richard Stone is unopposed for re-election as Democratic county chair. There are no candidates listed for Republican county chair.

STATE OFFICES— There are a number of state offices on the two ballots.

Probably the hottest statewide primary race is the GOP nomination for lieutenant governor where incumbent David Dewhurst is challenged by Todd Staples, Dan Patrick and Jerry Patterson.

Winner faces Democrat Leticia Van de Putte in November.

Presumed front-runners in the race to replace incumbent Republican Rick Perry are Republican Greg Abbott and Democrat Wendy Davis, although each has primary opposition.

Abbott is opposed by SECEDE Kilgore, Miriam Martinez and Lisa Fritsch.

Davis’s opponent is Reynaldo “Rey” Madrigal.

Most crowded spots on the primary ballots are for U. S. Senator where eight Republicans and five Democrats are seeking the seat currently held by Republican John Cornyn.

Cornyn’s GOP opponents are Ken Cope, Curt Cleaver, Dwayne Stovall, Steve Stockman, Linda Vega, Reid Reasor and Chris Mapp.

Democratic hopefuls are Harry Kim, Maxie Marie Scherr, Michael “Fjet” Fjetland,

David M. Alameel and Kesha Rogers.

Three GOP incumbents, who represent Milam County, do not have primary opponents.

They are Congressman Bill Flores, State Sen. Charles Schwertner and State Rep. Marsha Farney.

Their Democratic opponents in the fall are Nick Haynes (congress), Joel Shapiro (state senate) and Stephen Wyman (state representative).

Complete sample ballots, including the six Republican and four Democratic propositions/referendums were published in the Feb. 13 Reporter.

Click here for digital edition
2014-02-27 digital edition

Copyright 2009-2018 Rockdale Reporter, All Rights Reserved.

Special Sections

Special Sections